May 11, 2008

Google Is A Malware Site (Says Yahoo)

Michael Arrington

52 comments »

I’m going to assume that the fact that some Yahoo search results that point to Google with a malware warning are a sign that their new partnership with McAfee just needs a little tuning. The alternatives are either (1) Google is serving Malware, or (2) Yahoo or McAfee are playing a little joke.

Most results that point to Google don’t have this “feature,” and given the recent love fest between the two companies, the joke angle is probably out. Keep an eye out on this query though. I wouldn’t be surprised to see flags popping up all over the place on that page.

  • Sphere It

Trackbacks/Pings (Trackback URL)

  1. Yahoo says Google is a malware | blog ex machina
  2. Google es un malware ¿por error? « Sin Futuro y Sin Un Duro
  3. Interesting in Google Reader - 12 May 2008 - Part 2 | My Blog Posts
  4. Google Treated as Malware Wrong TechCrunch Reports
  5. Technoworld » Google,a malware ?
  6. Beyond Good and Evil » Google is Mallware Site!
  7. Yahoo bilang: Google Mengandung Malware ! | Terasi Rumah
  8. Yahoo to Google: We love you thiiiis much | BlueNosedDog
  9. BloggingBox » Google ist gefährlich!
  10. TuxJournal.net » Yahoo Search: Google è un malware
  11. Queloke.com » Blog Archive » Yahoo defina a Google como malware
  12. Yahoo! Shows Google as a Malware! Turns out to be Yahoo! URL Mix-Up! » PageTraffic SEO Blog
  13. meneame.net
  14. "Google a malware",says Yahoo | tftb.net
  15. Youssef Boubia - NTIC Blog
  16. Google Is A Malware Site (Says Yahoo) « geek-o-pedia
  17. My Life as a Spammer… or so says Yahoo! | Affiliate Marketing | Affiliate Networks
  18. Link-Fest for Friday May 15th 2008 | SEOpsCentre

Comments

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Wes Mahler

    Last time I opened up google I got a virus.

  2. Zoul

    Wow! This is great

  3. Saravanan Sahadevan

    Haha.. This is some joke though.

  4. YDRIVE

    LOL :-D :P

  5. Chris

    Well, I think yahoo is half-way right… not sure how google lets this kind of easter eggs / trapps happen!

    Go to google, type “things I did last night” and click “I’m feeling lucky”

    Pretty silly, but come on GOOGLE!!!

  6. steve

    hysterical!

    @chris, wow, even funnier

  7. Louis Gray

    That’s fairly embarrassing for Yahoo! What an amusing mistake.

  8. Rushabh Choksi

    Sounds interesting. I wonder what Google has to say about it?

  9. Anand

    Well maybe Yahoo is right! who knows..

  10. Smart PC Solutions

    I think this is an obvious case of unfair competition by McAfee. I wrote about my experience with the unfair ratings - Want to know how McAfee “SiteAdvisor” makes money on you? See if you are one of the targets: http://www.smartpctools.com/truth

  11. Jono

    It’s a bug.

    The search term in question is “Astalavista”. If you click the more info link, McAfee refers you to information about astalavista.ms not Google.

  12. RIAA

    i just searched google on yahoo, it didnt show up

    user error.

  13. Colin C.

    There seems to be an issue with their McAfee association. I clicked on the More Details link that is listed in the McAfee warning and it shows astalavista.ms as the bad site. Not Google.com.

  14. Bashar

    Ballmer is gonna like that one :)

  15. Anthony Feint

    I don’t think Google would be too happy with this….although I doubt they will even comment.

  16. Freiddie

    From comment #11 and #13, it seems that it’s an unintentional bug in the program.

  17. Nan

    The link in question is a cached link for forums.astalavista.ms. Just a matter of technicalities.

  18. A.T.

    what a *nice advertisement* for McAffee - I guess they need to work more before expect market to take them serious.

  19. Nicholas Francis

    is this somekind of joke by Yahoo and McAfee. ha ha ha..I google everyday… i dont get any viruses… I think yahoo is trying to ruin googles reputation…which will never possible

  20. Spuds

    Very funny.

  21. John

    I guess its still in Beta! Lets try again in a months time.

  22. Amit Bhawani

    This is a wrong report if you study the Yahoo search results in detail @ http://www.amitbhawani.com/blo.....h-reports/ May be you can make a report with more observation since the site which is referred is astalavista.ms and not Google.com

  23. Corey O'Donnell

    Google basically indexes the entire web, so of course the results often link to malware-hosting sites and downloads. No doubt Yahoo! has been white-listed by McAfee not to prompt this alert, but you could argue that having the warning is more appropriate than not having it on any search engine.

  24. JerkCrunch

    A new low for Arrington!

    Is this news?
    Where is the startup being covered?

    Why is it that we never see M$ in news like this?

    You couldn’t let go attacking google and yahoo in one single headline, could you?

  25. deb

    this is a foolish posting is this blog..Michael Arrington please do a little research then do a post. http://www.amitbhawani.com/blo…..h-reports/
    see this link and apologize for this wrong post

  26. Jay Cuthrell

    I’m beginning to think that registered comments would serve TC well.

  27. zol

    Deb: Nothing foolish, it’s clearly a bug from Yahoo / McAfee integration.
    1- Yahoo shoudn’t return http://www.google.com as a result of searching astalavista
    2- The ranking insertion is wrong too
    3- The result is really funny

    It’s bug and it seems they already fixed it but google.com is still in the results…

  28. Brent

    Wrong:
    Stopbadware.org and Google partner to compete in the malware arena under the pretense of a charitable org headed by vint cerf.

    This site may harm your computer.

    The result:
    Millions of site owners with dangerous labels attached to their search results. Ten people are saved bard drive crashes. (got better numbers?)

    The karma:
    When it happens to the people that hurt so many. Stopbadware.org is evil.

  29. sam

    TechCrunch tried to publish a exclusive posts with exclusive but it’s fully wrong information. I don’t aspect that types of posts…

  30. V

    This result might be because many search terms in Google lead to dangerous/harmful websites. Maybe McAfee searches and reports back very deep.

    Anyways this bug looks weird and for google.com its already fixed.

  31. Ronak Bhagdev

    check this query (http://search.yahoo.com/search?p=Astalavista) again, you will get diffrent result.

    Yahoo has repaired it!!?

    Yahoo… really big mistake. So sad…

  32. Pat Marcello

    Yeah… I work with a site about attention deficit disorder, and no matter what we tried, we couldn’t get the McAfee Red X to come off. (See post http://ovblogger.com/2008/01/0.....fee-red-x/)

    This isn’t a spam site. It’s an information site, but we made the mistake of using HyperTracker for tracking purposes. We got zapped.

    If I were HyperTracker, I’d be yelling “lawsuit” all over the place.

    –Pat

  33. David Lewis

    It wasn’t that big a mistake by Yahoo. Google was called a malware provider on a search term that received little traffic until yesterday.

    My site has been targeted by Yahoo as a spammer. We do not SPAM. The only other site that I can find in Yahoo that is called a spammer is Excite.

    If the warning weren’t bad enough, Yahoo has terminated us from Paid Inclusion and removed most of our Paid Search campaigns. Yahoo’s reply? 3 different departments claim that Yahoo is not responsible. This after 5 years of advertising (not ot mention that I was in the BD group at GoTo / Overture). No answer yet from McAfee.

    I can’t get a trackback for some reason. You can read teh details and see Yahoo’s e-mail at http://www.revenews.com/davidl.....ays-yahoo/

    -David

  34. Ignacio

    Hi,

    any automatic tool that searches for malicious sites could tag Google as a source of malware or related to spam because the flaws existing in the iclk script that Google uses for their AdSense program.

    iclk allows to make redirections to sites without checking them. Just try the following link, that will lead you back to this post, going through Google site:

    http://pagead2.googlesyndicati.....7&nm=4

    That script can also be used for redirecting to executables files hosted at exploited web sites (already seen in-the-wild).

    If an automated tool catches any of those links over the web, it could tag Google as malicious. It’s not the fault of the tool, it’s something that Google should correct but they don’t.

    Regards.

Leave a Reply

Continue the conversation in TechCrunch Forums